Top 5 foods that I know help produce breastmilk!

So ladies I’ve been doing a lot of research on the topic of breastfeeding. And when I mean a lot of research, I mean ALOT.

I was constantly in search of foods that would help me produce a heavier milk supply because when my daughter was first born it was incredibly hard for me to produce milk. I’m talking, a few teaspoons from both breast.

While in the hospital, I was advised by the nurses and doctors to supplement with formula and it broke my heart. I cried for days, not understanding what was wrong with me. I truly felt like a bad mom and it was only the beginning.

After about the first week of my daughter being born, I decided something had to be done. Suddenly, I remembered how I felt while I was pregnant. “Everything I need to successfully get through this pregnancy and keep my baby healthy I can get naturally from food.” And I decided the same had to be true for producing breastmilk.

So after trying almost 30 different types of food for producing breastmilk, I found 5 that do the job!

(Note: All or some of these may not work for you due to food allergens.)

1. Oatmeal.

Now, not only is oatmeal fully customizable but it’s also an amazing source of iron. Low iron levels have been linked to low milk supply for decades. Oatmeal is also full of a number of other nutrients and vitamins like protein, fiber, vitamin A, calcium, vitamin B-6 and magnesium. All of which can help produce breastmilk and give your little one plenty of nutrients and vitamins that help produce exceptional brain development and overall great health.

2. Grits.

Ok, so grits are also a breakfast/ brunch fave that are completely customizable. I love mine with salmon cakes or cheese. But be careful with your amount of cheese because dairy is a big food allergen and has been said to produce gas in your little one. Grits also have an amazing source of iron and other nutrients like protein, magnesium, vitamin b-6 and vitamin A. But if I’m honest oatmeal is steal my go to because grits doesn’t even have half of the nutrients that oatmeal has.

3. Almonds.

Almonds are an amazing source of folic acid, calcium, potassium and Omega -3s. Folic acid is great for you and your baby’s brain development. Omega-3s also help produce the lactation hormones that push your body to produce milk. Almonds are great in salads, oatmeal and even as a snack so grab some and enjoy!

4. Spinach.

Cooked or raw spinach is incredible and contains folic acid, potassium and Calcium. But they also contain amazing detoxifying agents that help you go poo. They also contain plant chemicals that help prevent breast cancer. So they are good for producing breastmilk and good for your breast too. But, be sure not to over indulge on the spinach because spinach can also cause blood clots and diarrhea in your little one. So remember, everything in moderation ladies.

5.Salmon

Like almonds, Salmon contains that amazing omega-3 component that boost your lactation hormones. It also contains essential fatty acids that combined with omega-3s makes your milk the cream of the crop ( super nutritious for your baby).

So these are my top 5 suggestions of foods that I find help me produce nutritious, baby powerful, yummy breastmilk!

Hope this helped!

Have any suggestions? Leave them in the comment section below and let’s help each other.

Signed,

A Single Mother

Author: TheCuteQueen

Just a woman who has lots of thoughts and feelings she felt it was time to express! Plenty of thought provoking posts, help tips for the little ones and mommy chat to come! Signed, A Single Mom

Leave a comment